Joysown

– some stuff I want to write about…

i remember

There are always some memories from your childhood days that you somehow recollect – they may be good, they may be bad and some may even be just plain memories. This is one such thing that has been on my mind for ages and this is the perfect platform to share it. It makes the most sense.

The location is a 1 BHK in Thane. I guess its a working day coz my dad just finished his tea while reading the newspaper. My mom is in the kitchen preparing breakfast and also packing a tiffin for my dad to carry to work. It may be vacation time coz my elder sister (4 years elder – the name is Chippy) is home which means that the school was off. Then there is me. All of a year and a half or maybe two, running in the house, playing with my sister, imitating my dad read his news paper while i sipped on my bottle of milk.

As any busy morning my dad leaves the paper aside and moves on to the next thing – shaving. Chippy had this slate board on which she learned to write. That was one of my favourite things to play with. A chalk & a slate in hand and I would sit for a long time drawing meaningless things on it. Chippy got out her slate and I sat down with her. With a chalk in my hand, she made me write some alphabets and then we rubbed it off together.

She helped me write my first sentence. I was overjoyed, delighted. Chippy was laughing, I dint know why. I took the slate and I proudly showed it to my mom, she gave a big smile and asked me to show it to my dad… I was even more happy now… My dad, now resembling a santa claus with the shaving foam on his face, saw the slate and laughed. my smile grew wider. I was so proud of myself . My first sentence.

Little did i know thatย the first thing i wrote was – I AM MAD.

10 comments on “i remember

  1. joysown
    September 18, 2011

    many things i could remember , rest of it is built on hearing the incident for almost 2 decades.

  2. Vidyabajaj
    September 20, 2011

    very cute memory ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Yams
    September 25, 2011

    Its short, and exteremely sweet… some simple joys always have their own charm! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Sosha
    September 30, 2011

    Oh yes, you are ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. joysown
    September 30, 2011

    thank you vidya, yaman & sonali ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Monika
    November 6, 2011

    Sweet memory!!
    The way you start,,, take things 4wrd n end it,,,,,izz all so AMAZING!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. fauzia
    June 24, 2012

    haha…..so sweet…..u r an amazing writer yaar…..u describe so beautifully…….

  8. swati shedge
    July 1, 2012

    I love this memory so much…..never thought i’d miss u wen i’d b married and away…. remembr how we we’re laughing last week for d KFC take away incident!

    Miss laughing lik tat!

  9. greeshma
    July 1, 2012

    Dats sooo sweet….” i am mad”

  10. Krishna Kumar
    January 22, 2014

    The perfection of innocence is madness. Krishna Kumar

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2011 by in This and That and tagged , , , , .
